Colorado Spruce #1 (Picea Pungens)

I will be teaming up with a local nursery this spring in Komin, Brno area. The place is called Carex and they have some decent conifer material along with a very friendly staff. I highly recommend visiting them and asking them if they can deliver the type of material you seek. Most of it has gone by the way side and most people wouldn’t consider putting in their garden landscape anymore even if you paid them. I was intrigued by this tree and I decided to take it up as a challenge and eventually create a high alpine Rocky Mountain tree.

IMG_2803

IMG_2984

Good sized trunk with more of it hidden under this “soil” which it must have been living in for many years. It has great bark and the trunk size is not bad either.

IMG_2985

Here’s the tree after some branch selection and a reduction in height. I hope to improve the health and get some back-budding. After this Pungens regains some vigor I will cutoff even more but I don’t want to risk killing or severely weakening the tree.

In the spring I will take apart the rootball and place it into a fresh substrate mixture which should help bump this tree back in the right direction.

Here are some badass examples that have really inspired me and I would like to evoke a similar feeling in the final design.
IMG_2981
I saw this tree several years ago and find it a really fantastic example of a high elevation tree, Andy did a great job here.
IMG_2986

Todd Schlafer, a Colorado local, has worked with Mirai and I find his work very inspirational as well. I really enjoy what he has been doing with Pungens Spruce especially and he as also mentioned that this is his favorite species. Check out his work at firstbranchbonsai.com or his instagram page.

 

Take care,

T.

Leave a comment